Thursday, September 27, 2012

the case for golden tate

woot!  the old refs go back to the field, the new refs go back to foot locker, and next week we can complain about the higher paid refs making higher paid mistakes.

you can say it's been fun watching goodell and the owners stew, you can say it's not been right that we've been talking about the contract drama more than the game, but you can't say it's been boring.



common sense test?  sure...

md jennings:
two hands on the ball in the air, two hands on the ground, ball to his chest the whole way

golden tate:
one hand on the ball in the air, then two, then one then two, never on his chest til the pile ended.




if your wallet contains one of these things here, you probably think tate caught a touchdown pass.

...the rest of us with eyes know different.





but y'know what?

i actually think the running shoe salesmen were right: tate scored a touchdown

let's do this...

one rule says
"if a pass is caught simultaneously by two opponents and both retain it...[tie goes to the passing team]"

which brings us to what "caught" means, which is when the
"...ball is secured by one or both hands and both feet or any other part body other than hands touch the ground".

the video shows that by the time tate's feet were on the ground, he had two hands on and control of the ball.  better put, because it was called a touchdown on the field, there's nothing in the video that shows that he didn't.  in fact, when this happens in the end zone, that's an immediate touchdown and the play ends.

and it's more important to add that at this moment, both of jenning's feet were still in the air.

another rule says that "it's not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent then gains joint control".  and you can gain control before your feet come down.

but here's the problem with that.  first, the video shows that at the same time jennings gained control with two hands, tate gained control with his left hand.  how can we be reasonably sure both had control?  because the ref could've reasoned that if one didn't have control he would've lost the ball to the other.

the fact that jennings controlled the ball more does pass the smell test, but two-versus-one is not part of the rules.  it is possible, according to the rules, to catch a ball one-handed.  plaxico did that one-handed shit all the time.  c'mon... he even shot himself one-handed.
(and if he'd done that in new jersey instead of new york city, he probably would've never went to jail either)


the fact that tate took a while to get his second hand on the ball doesn't mean he gained control after jennings did.  at least according to the rules.

when it comes to judging what control is, that's a call on the field and reviewable under the hood.  and remember that the hood isn't for making calls, it's for seeing if there is any opposite evidence than what was called on the field.  there's nothing in the video that suggests that tate didn't have control of the ball also (no evidence that he lost it, or that the ball slid or wobbled around)



you can say that tate pushed off (foul) before the ball got there, and he did, but that wasn't the call on the field.  and besides, have you ever seen interference called on a hail mary?  never.

but... i'm glad that happened on monday night football, because it seems that's what it took to get the deal done.

-jimbarry



No comments:

Post a Comment